Straight on at roundabout


Wondering about 2011
July 7, 2010, 8:13 pm
Filed under: PBP, Why

So, after a few months of silence it’s time to blog again.  Which is probably a substitute for riding – I’ve had to take a month off in the hope that a persistent achilles tendon problem clears itself up.

Which has left me time to start stressing about Paris-Brest-Paris 2011.

The event website is live and already the discussion boards are abuzz with debate and advice.

I know I want to do it.  I want to ride the 1,200 km in under 90 hours.  I did it in 2007, but this time I want to do it in the dry.

Finishing PBP in 2007 - looking more cheerful than I felt. Pic Tim Wainwright

But I don’t know if I can do it – I genuinely don’t know if I’m up to it this time.

Back in 2007 I was working from home and was able to ride a great deal in the run -up.  I lost count of the number of evening rides I did and the stolen days when I should have been working.  Yet despite the preparation I grovelled home in 89 hours and 59 minutes, with a desperately painful back, a neck that would no longer support my head and both achilles shot.

Now, I’m four years older and over a stone heavier.  My Achilles continue to play up and I’m back in the world of wage slavery which is cetrain to eat into my preparation time.

However, I wonder where I’ll be at 10pm on the night of August 21 next year?

Liam

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It’s harder to qualify this time too. They are putting a cap on entries from the larger Audax countries, so you need to do a prequalification ride (or whatever other sadism your national committee has dished up). I reckon you did really well last time in what have been reported as atrocious conditions. I love the idea that you came in just inside cut-off. You must have been struggling a lot and made a huge effort to complete the ride when your mind and body would have been saying “STOP!”.

The best thing would be to start preparing as soon as you get over the achilles thing. Join up with some other riders at least once a week who will push you, then you have to work on ways of finding the time to train midweek so you can keep up.

You can do it again.

Peter

Comment by Peter

Cheers – I’ll be getting back to commuting soon.

I’ve done my 400 this year (which is how I made the tendinitis worse!) but i found the hardest part last time was maintaining the support of my very tolerant family. Every spare minute became a training opportunity…

Liam

Comment by manwithabike




Leave a Reply

